Tuesday, 7.10.14

I just got home from Ikea with the goal of buying one blanket but ended up with two. Cozied up in my super soft blankets I now sit on the floor of my room to write this Blog entry. I´m pretty done for today so this will be a short one.

I spent the morning in the public library, which is right next to the Campus library in the Korona building. I took part in Kirjatti, which is a software program created to approach the concept of media and computer use to younger kids. Today there was a kinder garden group of 20 6-year olds who got to play with the cat Kirjatti who was looking for his friend Marjatti. To find her, the kids had to follow Kirjatti around a digital town solving riddles and playing games while using different kinds of media, e.g. books, the computer, Paint program, the internet and so on.

In the beginning every child got handed a hand sign with a picture of an animal and its name on it. The librarian doesn´t know any of the names so if a child wants to say something they raise the sign and the librarian says the animals name. Pretty neat if you ask me.

Afterwards I got a tour of the library and Mari showed me the vast online services the Public Library of Helsinki offers their Customer. What I find most useful (for me) is that the even offer language courses online, in Finnish, English, German, Spanish and some more.

Later I joined Leena at the Customer Service and worked on the Sippola Collection.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Uncategorized veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

